How to Get a Resale Certificate in Each State

How to Get a Resale Certificate in Each State

What Is a Resale Certificate? A resale certificate is a tax form that you can provide to your supplier in order to purchase inventory tax-free (assuming you are reselling the inventory to customers, of course!). This means that if you have the proper documentation,...

read more
How Sales Tax Remittance Impacts the Business Sale Process

How Sales Tax Remittance Impacts the Business Sale Process

Summary: If you’re ever planning on selling your business, you can protect your business’s future valuation by collecting and remitting sales tax now. A messy sales tax picture can slow or even stall the sales process, or even result in a reduced...

read more
Which States Require Sales Tax on Cannabidiol (CBD)?

Which States Require Sales Tax on Cannabidiol (CBD)?

Which States Require Sales Tax on Cannabidiol (CBD)? Thankfully, sales tax on Cannabidiol (CBD) is pretty straightforward. Most states allow you to sell CBD products as long as they are properly labeled and meet other requirements (like being extracted from hemp...

read more
Louisiana’s Economic Nexus Law Explained

Louisiana’s Economic Nexus Law Explained

Summary: Louisiana's economic nexus bill, effective July 1st, 2020 requires out-of-state businesses without a physical presence to register to collect and remit sales tax if they have over $100,000 in sales of tangible personal property, products transferred...

read more
Sales Tax on Rentals and Leases of Tangible Personal Property

Sales Tax on Rentals and Leases of Tangible Personal Property

Summary: This blog discusses the state-by-state intricacies of sales tax in regards to rentals and leases of tangible personal property. Please Note: If you are renting or leasing vehicles, machinery, heavy-duty equipment, or lodging, then this blog post is not for...

read more
How to File and Pay California’s Annual LLC Fee

How to File and Pay California’s Annual LLC Fee

Summary: Any LLC doing business in California that has over $250,000 in gross income attributable to California must pay an annual LLC fee. Although this tax is not technically a gross receipts tax, the amount due is based on gross income attributable to California....

read more
States with No Sales Tax

States with No Sales Tax

Summary: This blog identifies 5 states with no sales tax and what that really means.  What is sales tax and why is it imposed?  That is a good question. Sales tax is basically a tax that is imposed by the government to help raise revenue.  Currently, there are...

read more
How to Register for Sales Tax Permits in Every State

How to Register for Sales Tax Permits in Every State

Summary: This blog will give you information about how to register for sales tax permits in every state on your own.  It is vital that you register for a sales tax permit before collecting sales tax in a state. We know that applying for sales tax permits can sometimes...

read more

Free Resource: The ULTIMATE Sales Tax Checklist

This guide breaks down the process of getting compliant in 5 simple steps.

 

This is a great resource if you're starting to figure things out on your own.

Thanks for Subscribing!