Colorado Retail Delivery Fee for 2023-2024 Set at $0.28
The Colorado Department of Revenue has announced that the retail delivery fee for the period of July 2023 to June 2024 will increase to $0.28, up from the previous rate of $0.27. This fee applies to all retail deliveries made by motor vehicle to a location in Colorado with at least one item of tangible personal property subject to state sales or use tax.
The fee is made up of six separate charges and is the responsibility of the retailer or marketplace facilitator who collects the sales or use tax on the item being sold and delivered, regardless of whether the delivery is made by a third party. This fee is to be reported on and paid with Form DR 1786, which is due at the same time as the taxpayer’s sales tax return.
It is important to note that the fee is calculated per sale, and is collected state-wide without the need to separate by jurisdiction. By understanding and complying with this fee, retailers and marketplace facilitators can avoid penalties for noncompliance and ensure that their sales and delivery operations in Colorado remain legally compliant.
YOUR AUDIT RISK
What percentage of businesses get audited? Which states are most aggressive? And how much does a sales tax audit cost? Get your answers by email today...
Disclaimer: Our attorney wanted you to know that no financial, tax, legal advice or opinion is given through this post. All information provided is general in nature and may not apply to your specific situation and is intended for informational and educational purposes only. Information is provided “as is” and without warranty.